OST of the Month: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

11/19/2017

If you could believe it, this was the first video game I was really exposed to as a teen, even before I began my channel. Sure, I played Zelda and Mario Kart when I was young, but very rarely and not enough to really consider it gaming. My ex would play Skyrim often, and while I didn't understand the appeal of the game at the time, I always found myself mesmerized by its visuals. Once I started playing, I wanted to know literally EVERYTHING about this game. Luckily, my boyfriend of current had a textbook-sized guide to get me started.

Besides its stunning visuals, Skyrim also boasts an incredible soundtrack. It's full of beautiful instrumentals and epic voices. Who could forget the epic Dragonborn theme?
But ironically, that's not my favorite. Here's my top 5:

1. Ancient Stones: It's beautiful and melodic, gradually building and swelling, and while played during the game's night, makes for an incredible backdrop while climbing to the top of a mountain to view the colorful aurora borealis that fill the night skies. 

2. Distant Horizons: This is a piece that is difficult to describe- it sounds so hopeful, but at the same time, so very, very sad. It reminds me of the first time I defeated Alduin- I knew I had done the right thing, but his last dying cry struck terror into me that still sometimes haunts my dreams. 

3. Steel on Steel: From the very get-go, the staccato pulls of the strings and the primal drum beats immediately bring a sense of urgency and danger, and you must make the choice- run or fight. 

4. Secunda: Also an evening song, this one is like a lullaby, lilting piano notes gently stilling you, letting you relax after a tough day of fighting dragons and bandits. 

5. Frostfall: This song speaks of a long journey possibly nearing its end, like seeing the sunrise after an eternity spent in the dark caves and tombs of Blackreach. As it fades, you wonder if this is the end... or the beginning of something new.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started